Chakra Maintenance 101 – A Simple Guide

Chakra translates to wheel in the ancient language of Sanskrit. This is a word used to describe the energy centers (vortices) in our bodies that control the energy in our aura, meridians, and in our multidimensional energy grid. There are seven main chakras and twenty-one minor chakras, situated over major organs/glands and affect how we feel, and our overall state of wellbeing.

When we are energetically clear and centered, we feel grounded, peaceful, vital, and free from anxiety and fear. However, when we are operating under a state of chronic stress, over time our chakras become depleted and disrupted, which leads us to emotional and physical imbalances and disease.

Balancing and clearing our chakras through self-care practices such as meditation, spending time in nature, a healthy diet and mind-body exercise, helps to restore our energy levels, and to shift us into a state of relaxation and wellness.

The seven major chakras and their corresponding predominant colors are:

Root chakra – Red
Sacral chakra – Orange
Solar Plexus chakra – Gold
Heart chakra – Green
Throat chakra – Blue
Third eye chakra – Indigo
Crown chakra – Purple


The root chakra is physically located at the base of our spine. This energy center is where our energy connected with the material world and our survival is situated. When this center is not working to capacity, we often experience challenges with our finances, career, our home, grounding and manifesting our dreams into physical reality. We also may experience lower back issues.

The sacral chakra is located in our pelvic area, just three fingers below the navel. This is the energy center that is connected with our sexuality, our tribe, and creativity. Any childhood or adulthood wounding related to physical and emotional trauma is held within this center. Problems with our sexual organs/reproductive system, and experiencing a lack of passion, creativity, and vitality, are common symptoms that this energy center is not functioning properly.

The solar plexus is the energy center that focuses is located three fingers width above the navel. This energy center that controls our will, our ambition, and our personality. If you are having digestive problems, there could be disturbance within this chakra.

The heart chakra located in the center of our chest is the center that pertains to our capacity to feel interconnection between all things, to give and to receive unconditional love, and to have empathy for all kind. Heart problems can signal there is a blockage or contraction of this chakra.

The throat chakra is located at the base of our throat. This energy center is our communication hub. How freely and clearly we are able to communicate and express our true feelings and needs are traits of this center. When we are experiencing ears, nose or throat or thyroid problems, it could be that we having challenges expressing our needs or speaking up for ourselves.

The third eye chakra is located in the center of our eyebrows. This is the energy center of our sixth sense. Our intuition. It is within this center records our life experiences and helps us to communicate psychically what we perceive outside the range of our physical eyes. When this chakra is partially or completely blocked, headaches or migraines may start occurring.

The crown chakra, located at the crown of our head, is connected to spirituality (our higher consciousness). Our perceptions about the universe and your part in it are found within this energy center. Problems with tightness or pressure at the top of our head can signal a blocked crown chakra.

A Simple Daily Practice for Chakra Clearing and Balancing

This practice when completed at least once daily, will help to keep our chakras clear and balanced.

Begin by taking at least several deep breaths.

Then say aloud or think quietly to yourself several times, “I release all energies that are not mine”.

Place your hands over the root chakra, and imagine that you are sending the corresponding color of that chakra into the chakra center with your hands. Continue sending the color for about one or two minutes, then gently shake off your hands off and move onto the next chakra until all seven have been cleared.

Joy Jackson is a professional psychic/medium and intuitive in the Pacific Northwest.

Chakra Maintenance 101 – A Simple Guide


One thought on “Chakra Maintenance 101 – A Simple Guide

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s